Shadows

I’m going through a bit of a phase with my my street photography, I have always really loved the Moriyama style of shooting, fast moving high contrast black and white, shooting from different angles and not always bringing the camera to the eye.

I know it’s all been done before and I follow a few bloggers who also shoot in this manner, its refreshing to chop and change styles and methods now and again, it keeps an interest for me.  I tend to shoot the same areas of London over and over so a different angle on it is good for motivation….. I’m not trying to re-invent the wheel here!

So I’ve gone through another ‘selling everything’ thing too….. I recently ‘sold everything’ and bought an Olympus OMD EM1, and now that too is gone, leaving me with just my fuji  X20 and old faithful banger X100. Its fair to say the X20 hasn’t had much use, usually taken on holidays for family snapshots etc, but due to my X100 battery charger dying and a replacement getting lost in the post, I have been using the X20 for street recently.

My method of street photography has changed with this camera too, I’m using it mainly manual, apart from auto ISO, shooting in mono with green filter and zone focusing at f8, this works particularly well for the fast moving alternate angle style of photography I’ve been doing recently, keeping most things at an acceptable level of focus and no lag waiting for the AF to make up its mind!

 

Street Aug 12th 2016-16

Leave a Reply

